Our hotel is situated at Kato Loussi. Loussi used to be called "Soudena", which is a Slavic toponym meaning "cold place".
Kato Lousoi is a mountainous village built on the slopes of Aroania at an altitude of 1,080 m. The village used to be called Soudena Agiou Vasileiou until 1928 and it was renamed to "Lousoi" by residents who lived at the villages currently named Ano-Kato Soudeneika (Lousika). Lousoi is a village with traditional stone houses and spreads over an area of wild natural beauty at the fir forest of Helmos. Thus, our village combines the natural beauty and the unique traditional element. It is the ideal place not only for tours to nearby picturesque villages and to natural and historic sights, but also for alternative sport activities throughout the year. There is always a choice among hiking, climbing, cycling, parachuting, and other extremely entertaining activities. Lousoi (Soudena) is a place known since ancient years with an important role during the Turkish occupation and the Revolution of 1821 and the national resistance against the German occupation from 1941 to 1943.
A special feature of the village is its dry climate owning to the absence of moisture in the area.
THE OLD PRIMARY SCHOOL
The primary school is next to our hotel. It was declared as a historic monument which needs special national protection along with its surrounding space because it is a remarkable example of school building, important for studying the history of architecture and it is directly and inextricably linked to the memories of local people. The function of a local primary school was impeded by the small number of residents.
THE TOWER OF PETIMEZAION
The Tower of the historic family Petimeza is located at 1.5 km away from the hotel and it is one of the oldest towers of mountainous Peloponnese. It is a typical example of a fortificated residence and it was the center of resistance against the Turks.
Using the train of Odontotos you can stop at the station of Zachlorou in order to visit the Monastery of the Great Cave. Then the train passes through the station Kerpini and ends in Kalavrita station giving to the passenger the experience of a breathtaking trip. During the trip from the Great Cave of Kato Zachlorou to Kerpini you can admire the green trees and the running water while the small old stone houses complete a fairytale image.
In 2003 the renovation of the train line Diakopto-Kalavryta started and it was completed in 2009. Moreover, new train lines were initiated by the Swiss company STADLER, which replaced the old lines who fuctionned for more than forty years.
At 10km from HOTEL MELAMPOUS, on the road to Klitoria you will see the picturesque Planitero at the altitude of 700m in a unique landscape dominated by walnut trees and creeks around the sources of Aroanios river. There you can visit the traditional water mill and taste the trout that is being bred in the area. From Planitero you can follow some interesting trekking paths for Elatofyto, Mazi (half an hour) and Ntourntouvana (6 hours).
Also, the E4 trail to Loussi (4 hours) and Kalavrita (6.5 hours).
In some of the huge, old trees the diameter of the trunk reaches 4 meters. The area of Planitero belongs to the area Natura 2000 «Mount Helmos and Styx waters". Most of the forest belongs to the Forest Authority of Kalavryta and to the Association of the watermills and the fish farms of Planitero.
THE WATER OF STYGA
They are known today as the Immortal Water or Mavroneri and they are the sources of the river Krathis in Helmos at an altitude of 2100m. The source Styx, as the ancients believed, was connected with an underground source which endedt to the Tartarus. In Tartarus , according to mythology, Okeanida lived to a palace guarded by dragons. The gods took the most severe unbreakable oaths to the water of Styx. They believed that that anyone who drank the water died and any metal diving in the water melt. It was the water of Styx that Nereid Thetis plunged her son Achilles into holding him by the heel, which was the only vulnerable point of his body.
It is located at the top Neraidorahi of Mount Helmos at an altitude of 2340 meters. The distance of observation is about the middle of the Universe. It is named after the Aristarchus of Samos, an important personality of astronomy at ancient times. The modern telescope has high-definition cameras and spectrometers and specific scientific instruments so as to observe at distances up to 7 billion light-years away from Earth.
The Telescope belongs to the National Observatory of Athens, it is the largest in the Balkans and the second largest in mainland Europe.
PLACE OF SACRIFICE
One of the most important monuments of Kalavryta is the Place of Sacrifice, on the hill of Kapi, located 9 km from the hotel MELAMPOUS.
There, on December 13 in 1943, all men aged 14 and over were led and were executed by Germans. Nowadays, at Kapi, there is a large
cross which reminds us of the hideous crime. In columns surrounding the central area there are the names of the families who were executed. At the catacomb there is a number of hanging lamps equal to the number of the people who were executed.
The museum is located at 13 km from our hotel, an area full of trees. Inside the monastery's yard there is the church where the revolution was declared the Bishop Palaion Patron Germanos in 1821 Feast of Evaggelismos. The flag which was raised at the Revolution is still guarded full of bullet holes. On 25th of March each year celebrations take place, the most significant of which is the representation of the assembly of chiefs and the rising of the flag.
HOURS -> 10-13: 00 & 16: 00-17: 00 PHONE NUMBER-> 2692022363
MONASTERY OF GREAT CAVE
Located 20 km from the hotel MELAMPOUS, on a wild cliff of 120 meters, is the monastery, which according to tradition was founded in 362 AD by the monks Symeon and Theodore in the box found the icon at the bottom of the cave. The image was found by a shepherd and is molded from wax and mastic by St. Luke. He burned and destroyed five times with the last in 1943 where the Germans executed 22 monks and all the staff of the monastery and threw the corpses of the cliff.
HOURS LEITOURGIAS-> 8-12 & 13:00 Sunset.
CAVE OF THE LAKES
The "Cave of Lakes" is located near the village of Castria, on the provincial road Patras Kalavryta and Kleitoria Tripoli. It is just 4 km from HOTEL MELAMPOUS and 9 km. From Klitoria. It is a rare creation of nature.
Apart from its labyrinth of corridors, its mysterious galleries and its strange stalactite formations, it has something exclusively unique: successive terraced lakes (spanning three floors), which makes it unique in the world! The developed part of the cave is currently 500 meters.
It includes artistic lighting. The visitor enters the cave through an artificial tunnel which leads straight to the 2nd floor. The dimensions of the part cause admiration. The crossing of the lakes is by artificial overhead bridges. On the lower floor of the cave were found fossilized bones of humans and animals including hippopotamus. This section is intended for viospilaiologiko laboratory of international.
Tel .: 2692031001, 2692031633
Kalavryta ski center is located approximately 10 km from HOTEL MELAMPOYS, is one of the most renowned ski resorts in the country, due except for services provided and the beauty
of the landscape, in a relatively short distance from Athens, which facilitates even for a one-day excursion.
It works on the NW side of Helmos at Vathia Laka position at an altitude of 1650 m. To 2340 m.
Here, you are the highest in Greece aerial lift that gives visitors the opportunity to enjoy an amazing view extending to the waters of the Corinthian Gulf, Eastern Achaia.
The Ski Center of Kalavryta, thanks to rich infrastructure, can comfortably meet the high demands of sports delegations or of individual athletes engaged in winter sports.
Situated Diaselo Egg 2,100 m., Operates mountain lodge B. Leontopoulos for up to 15 people, with heating (oil stove and fireplace), which you can visit after a course of half an hour from the ski center. Tel: 2692024451, 2692024452
In the western foothills of Helmos you will find the << Katavothres>>. It is this area that the water came to Aroanio river from.Kaliakoudotrypa is a vertical hole in the bottom of the slope of Ai-Lia (Ancient Lucia) with a diameter of 3-4 meters and large unexplored depth, and inside it black crows (kaliakoudes) build their nests.
THE OLD STONE BRIDGE
It is located on the provincial road of Kato Lousoi Sigouniou, at the area of Katavothres. It is a representative sample of the 1900 building art, an image of the style of the area's builders and it is inextricably linked with the memories of the residents. It has been declared as an important, under national protection, historic monument.
ARCHAEOLOGICAL SITE OF THE ANCIENT LOUSOI
This is one of the famous Arcadian cities which controlled the entire Epanokampo. From the early 20th century the Austrian Archaeological Institute is systematically excavating the ancient city's Agora where the Doric Artemis temple has been discovered, which was built in the early 3rd century. Other buildings which are being excavated include an important Hellenistic house with a central courtyard, another important temple and a colonnade at the "Stadium".
The citadel of the ancient city was iscovered a few years ago but it has not been excavated yet. Because of the fact that the area around the ancient town has been preserved at its ancient form, the whole place has been declared an archaeological site in order to avoid violent changes of the landscape. The archaeological site is located in our village Lousoi or Soudena.